

Contact: Ron Arp rarp@butkusfoundation.org 360.601.2991

BUTKUS AWARD® 31st SEASON COLLEGE AND HIGH SCHOOL FINALISTS ANNOUNCED

CHICAGO – (November 23, 2015) – Finalists for the 31st annual <u>Butkus Award®</u> honoring the nation's best collegiate and high school linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation.

Butkus Award 2015 Collegiate Finalists

Leonard Floyd
Deion Jones
Raekwon McMillan
Reggie Ragland
Jaylon Smith
University of Georgia
Louisiana State University
Ohio State University
University of Alabama
University of Notre Dame

Smith (2012) and McMillan (2013) both won the high school Butkus Award, Smith is a returning finalist, and Ragland was a semifinalist last year.

Butkus Award 2015 High School Finalists

Ben Davis Gordo High School, Ala.

Mique Juarez

North High School, Torrance, Calif.
Caleb Kelly

Clovis West High School, Fresno, Calif.
Maxs Tupai

Murray High School, Salt Lake City, Utah
Lyndell Wilson

Carver Senior High School, Montgomery, Ala.

Winners will be named by December 8 by the independent panel of 51 recruiters, scouts, coaches and journalists. A professional Butkus Award honoree will be named in early 2016. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at www.thebutkusaward.com

The 2014 Butkus Award winners:

- Professional: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers
- Collegiate: Eric Kendricks, UCLA (now Minnesota Vikings)
- High School: Malik Jefferson, Poteet, Mesquite, Tex. (now Texas)

The Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while helping spread the word about Butkus' I Play Clean™ initiative which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude instead of resorting to steroids and performance-enhancing drugs. More information is available at www.iplayclean.org and on facebook at i.play.clean.

The Butkus Award, www.thebutkusaward.com and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which includes the 22 most prestigious awards in college football with 700 years of selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org for more information.

###